Funding and Governance


PRESA is governed by an International Advisory Group (IAG) made up of site-level collaborators, national contact points, and donors. The current chairperson is Byamukama Biryahwaho from Uganda.

The full membership of the IAG is:

Serge Ngendekumana, ICRAF – Cameroun

David Nyantika Onsare – Ministry of Agriculture
Sjef Kauffman – Green Water Credits Project Manager, ISRIC – World Soil Information

Thapa Balaram, Care-Tanzania
Monica Kagya, Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism – Department of Forest and Bee Keeping
Jeremias Mowo – Coordinator, African Highlands Initiative

Ronald Kaggwa, NEMA, National Contact Point (Uganda)
Pauline Nantongo Kalunda, Executive Director – Ecotrust (Uganda)
Byamukama Biryahwaho, IAG chair and Project Leader, Nature Harness Initiatives (Uganda)

Regional and International
A representative of the East and Southern Africa Katoomba Group
Ilaria Firmian – International Fund for Agricultural Development


PRESA is implemented by the World Agroforestry Centre (ICRAF), with funding from the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), the European Commission and the Government of Finland. The views expressed in this website do not necessarily reflect the views of the funders.

The PRESA team at ICRAF

Scientist, Environmental services and PRESA Coordinator: Dr Sara Namirembe
Scientific Advisors: Dr. Peter Akong Minang, Dr Meine van Noordwijk
Associate expert, Environmental services: Jani Mannikko
PhD Research Fellows: John Kimani Mwangi, Obadiah Ngigi
Spatial Analyst consultant: Joseph Sang
Administrative Officer: Catherine Kimengu
Research/ Communications Officer: Judith Nzyoka